Welcome Message

Welcome to the blog and site of Iowa Author Buzz Malone. I always enjoy hearing from readers. Please leave comments and send me emails to let me know what you think. Your opinions matter more than you might think. Your words inspire me more than you could ever know. To find out more about my writing and books, please click above on the book titles or email me at buzzdmalone@gmail.com

If you are looking for my Union Leader Blog, please go to http://theunionleader.blogspot.com/




Reviews

FIVE STAR reviews for 

Silence of Centerville

agrownup reviewed Silence of Centerville
wow! October 18, 2012
This was one of the best books I have ever read. keeps you in the moment from beginning to the end. the author really wraps you into the story and you feel everything Frank felt through out the whole story. Bravo!!!
Jack W. reviewed Silence of Centerville
Silence of Centerville September 6, 2012
An absolutely compelling and well written fictional story that sounds so very true. After reading a chapter I wanted to go on to the next to see what was going to happen. Truly a 5 star book!
 
v6sandrats reviewed Silence of Centerville
Silence of Centerville August 6, 2012
This was a very good read. Had me crying at some point, just kept me wanting to read more. I have recommended this book for my daughters to read.
 
Kim Garrett reviewed Silence of Centerville
Awesome! July 17, 2012
I have to admit my expectations for this book were fairly low, considering the price I paid. I was pleasantly surprised by how good it was. This book makes you laugh, cry and think. This book will stay with you for a long time.
Joley Hidaka "Joley H." reviewed Silence of Centerville
Powerful and moving! June 13, 2012
I am also an Iowegian, raised about 2 hours north of Centerville and I was fascinated by this book and I too was very surprised to find out these aren't real people...as they seem so real as created by Buzz Malone. This book made me laugh and cry and just sigh....truly a great work and a wonderful read.

James Dale Davis "1razorback" reviewed Silence of Centerville
A GREAT READ June 8, 2012
I was hesitant to purchase this book because I was afraid it would be a romance novel. Boy, was I ever wrong. Buzz Malone takes you through a journey that makes you feel that you are right in the middle of the struuggles and joys the deaf experience. I highly reccomend this book and feel that it will stay with me for many years. 
 
beenthere2 reviewed Silence of Centerville
This is fiction? June 6, 2012
After finishing this book, I scoured the internet for articles by Frank Schantz and photography by Mary Graham-Schantz. They had to be Real people... I wanted more... I wanted to meet them... to "see" the fruits of their combined talents, the results of their love....they are SO real. No synopsis of the plot and characters would do justice to this book. You need to read it for yourself. And ENJOY! "Silence" speaks Volumes! I will be sharing this book with many friends and re-reading it again myself. A true labor of love. Thank you for sharing your talent. As a Iowegian born, middle aged woman, who grew up in this time period, I paused many times and fondly recalled my experiences of growing up then, triggered by the well written descriptions in this book. Such as getting our first black & white television, never quite fitting in, feeling lonely.....and so much more.
I will be looking for more Buzz Malone books today.
11 of 13 people found the following helpful
Elegant, eloquent and perceptive February 1, 2012
This is not just a book, it's a complete sensory experience. Not the sort of book you want to be reading if, like me you are used to gobbling down books, giving a satisfied belch every couple of chapters. Nor is it the sort of book you should attempt to sit down and read in one sitting. That's not to say it's not a page turner, just that if you do attempt to read it that way, your poor brain will quickly become overloaded with an explosion of images, scents and finely drawn characters that leap off the page and take up residence in your lounge for the duration of each sitting. It does get pretty crowded on my sofa. No dear reader, this is a book to be swirled, sipped and savoured like an extremely fine wine. So you will need to switch off the phone and tv, shut down your laptop and tell your friends you won't be tweeting for at least an hour. Accord this book the respect it deserves; do it in style with a large glass of something tasty, a few nibbles and a large box of Kleenex, just in case. Breathe deeply, open the page and immerse yourself in the sheer musicality of Frank's voice. As I read, in my head, the words appeared in an elegant hand, grown spidery with the onset of arthritis. Slowly, I shake off the cares of the day and allow myself to be teased into Frank's world where I luxuriate in the sinuous, sensual dance that sings to my blood just as loudly as my sword and trusty steed normally do. This is not just a gripping tale, a fast-paced romp through blurring settings with pencil-sketched characters on a mission to do something awfully exciting for a few hundred pages. To experience SILENCE OF CENTERVILLE properly, you must submit yourself to the writer's mastery of the journey - sit back and enjoy. Who cares how much farther it is, I'm not sure I even want to get there.

Eriu Fodla reviewed Silence of Centerville
8 of 9 people found the following helpful
Silence of Centerville January 29, 2012
This book is a wonderful surprise. It is a well written, insightful look at the joys and agonies of being different in 1950s small town Iowa. The story is well paced and pulls you along, needing to know what happens next. There are a couple, not mispellings, but rather use of the wrong word in a well worn phrase such as "You've got another thing (sic) coming" instead of "think". I'm so glad I read it. Deb

Ande reviewed Silence of Centerville
4 of 9 people found the following helpful
Good Reading! December 6, 2011
I have a connection with Centerville, having been born there, so wanted to read the book. I wasn't disappointed, except for the fact that he doesn't mention Pancake Day, the last Sat. of September, annually. It is one of my top favorite memories of Centerville and worth a trip there to experience. I am passing it on to my family members.  

More reviews from Goodreads website:

Robyn Echols rated it 
I liked this book, mainly for the portrayal of the characters. The main character goes deaf as a child. I loved how this book showed the impact on the main character, how his family handled this challenge, and the responses by his childhood friends and citizens of his community based on the prejudices of the 1940-50s. This was a great study in human nature, the best as well as the worst.

Kenn rated it
What a remarkable book! Beautifully-written "memoir" of a boy growing up in an idyllic setting in the WWII era, whose life is suddenly and drastically changed. Sensitive and insightful beyond my expectations. I am struck by the personal glimpse into the nature of deafness, prejudice, loneliness, resilience, and the tenacious grip of hope, despite all odds. 
Canoe41 rated it 
This was a thoroughly satisfying read. It was good to the last word. Buzz Malone used words to create visual imagery much as a fine painter puts paint to canvas. The characters are insightful and multi-faceted. I highly recommend it.
Linda rated it
Loved this book! I read it in less than a day cause I just couldn't put it down!

1 comment:

  1. Buzz: Just so you know, I've posted a review of Ghosts of Melrose on Goodreads, G+ and my own website. Good story, well told. As I mentioned in the review, I could be Aidan Keane.

    BE

    ReplyDelete